What is your excuse?

ImageI have been a group fitness instructor for almost 15 years. There is a lot of responsibility that goes along with being a good fitness professional. (Considering that only 15% of Americans exercise for 20 minutes or more at least 3 times per week, there is A LOT of responsibility in this particular profession.)

Over the years I have heard every excuse in the book. I’m sure that even if you don’t work out or go to a gym, you could rattle off the most popular with little to no effort:

“I don’t have time.”

“The gym is too expensive.”

“My kids don’t like the daycare.”

“I’m tired after work.”

“I need to run errands.”

“I stayed up late last night and I’m too tired.”

And on and on and on and on….

Over the years I’ve made my own excuses. I had 3 kids in the span of 4 years – that was an excuse. I got divorced – that was another excuse. Add those in with all of the other excuses that every one else uses…and I’m the one who is supposed to be inspiring others!!

This year I made up my mind to stop with the excuses as they relate to my health. As a result, I am 40 and in the best shape of my life. (Yes, even when I was a 21 year old University of Illinois cheerleader, although I weighed 10 lbs less, I was not nearly as healthy as I am right now.) I eat right 80% of the time. I choose healthy options and I watch my portions. (Yes I drink a shit-ton of beer & eat goldfish – but those are my carbs and I account for that in my other meals!) I get my butt out of bed and I do the workouts. For me that meant stopping my love/hate with cardio classes at the gym and taking on the challenge of running. Oh man! Running! (That will be a whole other post!) There have been times that the weather or my aches & pains have made running suck suck suckie suck, but I do it. The result of my commitment to my health is that I feel and look fantastic – yay me!

…I can hear your thoughts, so let me take a stab at putting them in writing…

  • “That’s great for you, but I don’t have that kind of willpower” – EXCUSE
  • “You don’t have a husband and you have days with no kids, so it’s easier for you.” – EXCUSE
  • “You’re an aerobics instructor so you were always in better shape than me.” – EXCUSE

Here’s the thing and there’s really no gettin’ around it: I am NOT stronger than you. It is NOT easier for me than it is for you. There is NOTHING inside of me that allows me to succeed which is not also inside of you. EVERY SINGLE PERSON has that thing inside, you know that deep down thing inside that wants to succeed! EVERY SINGLE PERSON has the power to feed that thing or to feed the excuse monster! So what the hell is more hungry today?!?

IF IT IS IMPORTANT TO YOU, YOU WILL FIND A WAY.

IF NOT, YOU WILL FIND AN EXCUSE.

Maybe today isn’t your day, maybe 2013 isn’t your year. At some point, we all have to stop making excuses for why we are unable to accomplish the things in life we want to accomplish and just find a way…

Have you caught on yet, that health is just an example…I’m really talking about all things in life!

Again, I don’t know everyone’s circumstance. I would never assume that I understand your life. What I do know to be true for myself is that when I stop coming up with reasons why I can’t do something and simply commit myself to making it happen – shit starts happening in an amazingly good way. So what would you rather shit – excuses or rainbows?!

Think about this…

What do you want?

…I mean what do you really want in your life that you haven’t been able to achieve?

What excuses are you making?

STOP IT! Just stop it right now!

Pick one thing – just 1 – that you want to work on and every time you start to make an excuse, Stop! and trust me, eventually you will find your way!

Keep skipping! ~Mis

Image

 

 

3 thoughts on “What is your excuse?

  1. Pingback: No Excuses. Start Today. | Make People Believe

  2. Pingback: 10 Reasons to Start Today | Wholeheartedness

Leave a Reply

